OR DAYS OUT OF SERVICE
|Any self-propelled vehicle licensed, purchased, or leased and primarily designed for the transportation of persons or property over the public streets and highways, but does not include mopeds, motorcycles, the living facilities of a motor home, or vehicles over 10,000 pounds GVW. The 10,000 pound limit does not apply to motor homes.
||1 repair attempt for a defect that might cause death or serious injury or 3 repair attempts for the same defect or 5 repair attempts for separate problems, or 30 calendar days out of service.
||2 years or 24,000 miles, first to occur. Transferee also qualifies during this period.
Arkansas Lemon Law Statute
Arkansas Attorney General - Lemon Law Info
Arkansas Consumer Protection - New and Used Car Buying Tips
The Arkansas Lemon Law and How it Works
The manufacturer or one of its authorized agents must provide the buyer with a booklet drafted by our office explaining owners' rights and obligations under the Lemon Law.
Do I Have a Lemon?
You may have a lemon if:
When Contemplating Filing a Lemon-Law Claim
- The manufacturer or its dealer has made three or more attempts at repairing a defect that is a "substantial impairment of the safety, value or use" of the car;
- The manufacturer or its dealer has made one unsuccessful attempt at repairing a defect that is likely to cause death or serious injury;
- The manufacturer or its dealer has made five or more attempts at repairing different problems that, together, substantially impair the use or value of the car; or
- Your car has been out of service for a total of thirty days.
- Keep all repair records.
- Make sure to follow the instructions in the "Consumer's Guide to the Arkansas Lemon Law", available online or from the Consumer Protection Division.
- If you have a potential lemon-law claim, you must give the manufacturer written notice of the defect and allow the manufacturer one more chance to repair the defect before requesting arbitration of your claim for a refund or replacement.