INDIANA LEMON LAW

 

 

INDIANA
LEMON LAW COVERS
REPAIR ATTEMPTS OR DAYS OUT OF SERVICE COVERAGE PERIOD
Motor vehicles sold to a buyer in the state and registered in Indiana, vehicles purchased in the state by a nonresident, having a GVW of less than 10,000 lbs., intended primarily for use and operation on public highways, excluding conversion vans, motor homes, farm tractors, road building equipment, truck tractors, road tractors, motorcycles, mopeds, snowmobiles or vehicles designed primarily for off-road use. 4 repair attempts - 30 business days out of service 18 months or 18,000 miles, whichever occurs first.

Indiana Lemon Law Statute

Indiana Attorney General - Lemon Law Info

WHAT SHOULD I DO?

Report the problem within 18 months of purchase or before 18,000 miles, whichever comes first.

Take your vehicle to an authorized dealer for repair.

Allow the dealer a reasonable number of attempts to repair.A reasonable number of attempts means:your vehicle is subject to at least four repair attempts OR is out of service due to repairs for at least 30 business days – and the problem still exists.

Request a copy of the written repair order every time you take your car to the dealer for repair or examination.

Read your owner’s manual or vehicle warranty.

Is written notice to the manufacturer required?If so, you must send written notice of your problem, along with copies of all repair orders to the manufacturer at the address identified in the owner’s manual or vehicle warranty.

Has the manufacturer adopted an informal dispute procedure that has been certified by the Attorney General?If so, you must follow the procedure before you can file a lawsuit under the Lemon Law.

If notice is NOT required and the manufacturer does not have an informal dispute procedure, you may file a lawsuit without notifying the manufacturer of your claim.

The manufacturer has 30 days to accept return of your vehicle and, at your option, replace the vehicle or refund your money.

If the manufacturer does not resolve your claim, you must file a lawsuit within two years from the date you first reported the problem to the dealer. If you win the lawsuit, you can recover all your costs and attorney fees.

 

LEMON LAW HOME