TEXAS LEMON LAW

 

 

TEXAS
LEMON LAW
COVERS
REPAIR ATTEMPTS OR DAYS OUT OF SERVICE COVERAGE PERIOD
New vehicles, including cars, trucks, vans, motorcycles, all-terrain vehicles, motor homes and towable recreational vehicles. 4 repair attempts or 30 days out of service. 2 repair attempts for a serious safety hazard. Warranty period or 1 year, whichever occurs first.

Texas Lemon Law Statute

Department of Transportation - Lemon Law Info

Texas Motor Vehicle Board - Complaint Procedure Rules


TEXAS “LEMON LAW”
TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION
MOTOR VEHICLE DIVISION, CONSUMER AFFAIRS SECTION

The Texas “LEMON LAW” provides simple and inexpensive help for consumers who own defective new vehicles. Owners or lessees of new vehicles, including towable recreational vehicles (TRVs), who have repeated warranty repairs on their vehicles may file a complaint with the Motor Vehicle Division if the vehicle is less than 30 months old and is within certain time and mileage limits. To qualify for relief, the vehicle must be presented for repairs, in most cases, at least 2 times during the first 12 months or 12,000 miles after delivery and 2 more times during the next 12 months or 12,000 miles, whichever occurs first. In general, mileage limitations do not apply to TRVs. If the defects cannot be corrected, owners or lessees of “LEMONS” are entitled to have their vehicles repurchased or replaced by the manufacturer.

In general, a “LEMON” is a vehicle that continues to have uncorrected defects after having been subject to repair a reasonable number of times, and the defects seriously affect the use, value, or safety of the vehicle.

Complaints under the lemon law must be filed with the Motor Vehicle Division within certain time limits. A filing fee is required, but will be reimbursed if the vehicle is found to be a “LEMON”.

Because the filing deadline and other requirements of the “Lemon Law” are very specific, call the Motor Vehicle Division for more information or for assistance concerning warranty repair problems at (512) 416-4800 or 1-800-622-8682.

(Chapter 2301, Subchapter M requires this notice to be conspicuously posted in the cashier area of the franchised dealer’s service department.)

Updated 9/29/2003

 

LEMON LAW HOME